top of page

The Writer Who Loves Books: Confessions of a Bookaholic

OK, the title of this post is perhaps a little silly and I am stating the obvious. There cannot be a writer out there who does not love books, but I am open to comments if you can prove me wrong. Anyway, my point is that I love books. I have always loved books.


As a child, my mum taught me to read, and would take me to our local library every Saturday morning. I would step into that small single storey building full of excitement and happiness and spend a few hours searching the shelves in the tiny children's fiction section, picking out my allocated allowance of six books. I would then read them all within a few days, return the following weekend, and do the whole thing again. I loved it!


A woman lying on the grass reading a book with stacks of books either side of her. Article called Confessions of a Bookaholic (Part One).
Confessions of a Bookaholic (Part One)


Becoming a published author


Becoming a published author was an amazing feeling. I finished writing my third book, I immediately started writing a fourth, and I have continued to write more novels over the years. The words flowed effortlessly, the stories are buzzing round my head, and I am both excited and overwhelmed with it all. But that is only half of my situation. I have an enormous pile of books to be read. That is just the paperbacks, and a couple of hardbacks. On my Kindle, I have hundreds of books, including samples. And somehow, I ended up back in our local library recently and came home with another stack of books to read. Talk about a sucker for punishment!


Addicted to books


This obsessive behaviour got me thinking. Perhaps I am addicted to books. I have to touch them, to feel the texture of their covers and smell the familiar library smell of the ones I borrow. Even on my Kindle, I like the sharp definition of text and the neatly ordered electronic pages. I feel such excitement every time I pick up a book, whether it be fiction or non-fiction. The point is I will learn something from each story, and I will experience new people, new places, and new adventures. I love books. I am a bookaholic. Who's with me?


Being a writer and a book lover go hand in hand. As a writer, I draw inspiration from the works of others. I am in awe of the creativity, the imagination, and the power of words that can transport us to different worlds and evoke a myriad of emotions. Each book I read enriches my own writing in some way. I learn about different writing styles, narrative techniques, and character development. I see how other authors tackle themes and explore ideas, and it fuels my own creativity.


Moreover, books provide an escape from reality. They offer solace in difficult times and companionship when we feel alone. They allow us to live vicariously through the lives of fictional characters and experience things we may never encounter in our own lives. They expand our horizons, challenge our beliefs, and open our minds to new perspectives. Books are windows into different cultures, eras, and realities. They broaden our understanding of the world and foster empathy and compassion.


The joy of discovering a new book


The joy of discovering a new book, flipping through its pages, and embarking on a literary journey is an unparalleled experience. Whether it's the anticipation of an eagerly awaited release from a favourite author or stumbling upon an unknown gem, the thrill of starting a new book is a delight that only fellow book lovers can understand. There's something magical about the act of reading, about losing yourself in the words and immersing yourself in a story.


As a writer who loves books, my passion for reading is an essential part of who I am. It fuels my imagination, inspires my writing, and reminds me of the endless possibilities that language can create. So, yes, I am a self-proclaimed bookaholic, and I wear that badge with pride. There's no shame in being addicted to books when they bring so much joy and enrichment to our lives.




Download your FREE copy of It’s Complicated (The Redcliffe Novels) and meet the werewolves of Cornwall, England. Click here.


17 views1 comment
bottom of page